TFR coming on Monday 10/24 - Tuesday 10/25

Latest information on airspace restrictions or notices that all Kagel pilots should be aware of prior to flying. Please include the NOTAM or TFR issue date in the subject line.
Post Reply
Julieann
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:58 pm

TFR coming on Monday 10/24 - Tuesday 10/25

Post by Julieann » Sat Oct 22, 2011 12:50 pm

FAA TO ESTABLISH TFR OVER LOS ANGELES, CA BEGINNING MONDAY
A notam has been issued that will restrict flight in the area during President Obama's planned visit.

For a graphic: http://tfr.faa.gov/save_pages/sect_print_1_9287.html

General explanation:
KAGEL FALLS UNDER THE 30NM RADIUS TFR FROM SANTA MONICA AND AREAS OF SYLMAR ARE UNDER THE 10NM FROM VNY.

***Because TFR airspace frequently changes, AOPA strongly encourages pilots to obtain a briefing before every flight.

Area A
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the SANTA MONICA VOR/DME (SMO) 026 degree radial at 3.9 nautical miles. (Latitude: 34º03'34"N, Longitude: 118º24'19"W)
Radius: 30 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 24, 2011 at 2315 UTC (October 24, 2011 at 1615 PDT)
To October 25, 2011 at 1915 UTC (October 25, 2011 at 1215 PDT)

Area B
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the LOS ANGELES VORTAC (LAX) 046 degree radial at 1.4 nautical miles. (Latitude: 33º56'38"N, Longitude: 118º24'29"W)
Radius: 8 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 24, 2011 at 2315 UTC (October 24, 2011 at 1615 PDT)
To October 25, 2011 at 0030 UTC (October 24, 2011 at 1730 PDT)

Area C
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the SANTA MONICA VOR/DME (SMO) 026 degree radial at 3.9 nautical miles. (Latitude: 34º03'34"N, Longitude: 118º24'19"W)
Radius: 12 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 24, 2011 at 2345 UTC (October 24, 2011 at 1645 PDT)
To October 25, 2011 at 1645 UTC (October 25, 2011 at 0945 PDT)

Area D
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the VAN NUYS VOR/DME (VNY) 096 degree radial at 9.1 nautical miles. (Latitude: 34º10'11"N, Longitude: 118º19'14"W)
Radius: 10 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 25, 2011 at 1600 UTC (October 25, 2011 at 0900 PDT)
To October 25, 2011 at 1900 UTC (October 25, 2011 at 1200 PDT)

Area E
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the LOS ANGELES VORTAC (LAX) 046 degree radial at 1.4 nautical miles. (Latitude: 33º56'38"N, Longitude: 118º24'29"W)
Radius: 8 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 25, 2011 at 1800 UTC (October 25, 2011 at 1100 PDT)
To October 25, 2011 at 1915 UTC (October 25, 2011 at 1215 PDT)

==> AFFECTED PUBLIC USE AIRPORTS <==
KSMO Santa Monica Muni
KLAX Los Angeles Intl
KHHR Jack Northrop Field/Hawthorne Muni
KBUR Bob Hope
KVNY Van Nuys
KWHP Whiteman
KCPM Compton/Woodley
KTOA Zamperini Field
KEMT El Monte
KLGB Long Beach /Daugherty Field
KFUL Fullerton Muni
L70 Agua Dulce

Post Reply