TFR - Thursday, April 21 - Friday, April 22, 2011

Latest information on airspace restrictions or notices that all Kagel pilots should be aware of prior to flying. Please include the NOTAM or TFR issue date in the subject line.
Post Reply
Julieann
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:58 pm

TFR - Thursday, April 21 - Friday, April 22, 2011

Post by Julieann » Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:59 pm

Hi folks,

I wanted to spread the word so no one gets into trouble.

We have a TFR coming up later this week. Please make sure to check the FAA website before flying in case it gets cancelled, expanded or changes in any other way.

Issue Date : April 19, 2011 at 2013 UTC
Location : Los Angeles, California
Beginning Date and Time : April 21, 2011 at 2145 UTC (1445 PDT)
Ending Date and Time : April 22, 2011 at 1630 UTC (0930 PDT)
Reason for NOTAM : Temporary flight restrictions for VIP Movement
Type : VIP

Area A
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the SANTA MONICA VOR/DME (SMO) 044 degree radial at 2.5 nautical miles. (Latitude: 34º01'54"N, Longitude: 118º24'49"W)
Radius: 30 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From April 21, 2011 at 2145 UTC (April 21, 2011 at 1445 PDT)
To April 22, 2011 at 1630 UTC (April 22, 2011 at 0930 PDT)

Area B
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the LOS ANGELES VORTAC (LAX) 046 degree radial at 1.4 nautical miles. (Latitude: 33º56'38"N, Longitude: 118º24'29"W)
Radius: 8 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From April 21, 2011 at 2145 UTC (April 21, 2011 at 1445 PDT)
To April 21, 2011 at 2245 UTC (April 21, 2011 at 1545 PDT)

Area C
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the SANTA MONICA VOR/DME (SMO) 044 degree radial at 2.5 nautical miles. (Latitude: 34º01'54"N, Longitude: 118º24'49"W)
Radius: 10 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From April 21, 2011 at 2200 UTC (April 21, 2011 at 1500 PDT)
To April 22, 2011 at 1600 UTC (April 22, 2011 at 0900 PDT)

Area D
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the LOS ANGELES VORTAC (LAX) 046 degree radial at 1.4 nautical miles. (Latitude: 33º56'38"N, Longitude: 118º24'29"W)
Radius: 8 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From April 22, 2011 at 1530 UTC (April 22, 2011 at 0830 PDT)
To April 22, 2011 at 1630 UTC (April 22, 2011 at 0930 PDT)

No pilots may operate an aircraft in the areas covered by this NOTAM (except as described).

Except as specified below and/or unless authorized by ATC in consultation with the air traffic security coordinator via the domestic events network (DEN):

A. All aircraft operations within the 8 and/or 10 NMR area(s) listed above, known as the inner core(s), are prohibited except for: Approved law enforcement, military aircraft directly supporting the United States Secret Service (USSS) and the office of the President of the United States, approved air ambulance flights, and regularly scheduled commercial passenger and all-cargo carriers operating under one of the following TSA-Approved standard security programs/procedures: aircraft operator standard security program (AOSSP), full all-cargo aircraft operator standard security program (FACAOSSP), model security program (MSP), twelve five standard security program (TFSSP) all cargo, or all-cargo international security procedure (ACISP) and are arriving into and/or departing from 14 cfr part 139 airports. All emergency/life saving flight (medical/law enforcement/firefighting) operations must coordinate with ATC prior to their departure at 858-537-5900/5950 to avoid potential delays.

B. For operations within the airspace between the 8 and/or 10 nmr and 30 nmr area(s) listed above, known as the outer ring(s): All aircraft operating within the outer ring(s) listed above are limited to aircraft arriving or departing local airfields, and workload permitting, ATC may authorize transit operations. Aircraft may not loiter. All aircraft must be on an active IFR or VFR flight plan with a discrete code assigned by an air traffic control (ATC) facility. Aircraft must be squawking the discrete code prior to departure and at all times while in the TFR and must remain in two-way radio communications with ATC.

C. The following operations are not authorized within this TFR: flight training, practice instrument approaches, aerobatic flight, glider operations, seaplane operations, parachute operations, ultralight, hang gliding, balloon operations, agriculture/crop dusting, animal population control flight operations, banner towing operations, sightseeing operations, maintenance test flights, model aircraft operations, model rocketry, and unmanned aircraft systems (UAS).

D. FAA recommends that all aircraft operators check notams frequently for possible changes to this TFR prior to operations within this region.

For a graphic, go to: http://tfr.faa.gov/save_pages/sect_print_1_7789.html

Be safe!

Julieann

Post Reply