TFR - Friday, October 22nd

Latest information on airspace restrictions or notices that all Kagel pilots should be aware of prior to flying. Please include the NOTAM or TFR issue date in the subject line.
Post Reply
Julieann
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:58 pm

TFR - Friday, October 22nd

Post by Julieann » Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:39 am

Here's a graphic of the TFR:
http://tfr.faa.gov/save_pages/sect_print_0_1912.html

We are under the most outer ring as described in Area A and we are in the Operating Restrictions Part C. See below.

Here's the verbiage:
Area A
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the SANTA MONICA VOR/DME (SMO) 038 degree radial at 7.3 nautical miles. (Latitude: 34º05'00"N, Longitude: 118º20'18"W)
Radius: 35 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 22, 2010 at 1730 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1030 PDT)
To October 22, 2010 at 2359 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1659 PDT)

Area B
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the LOS ANGELES VORTAC (LAX) 046 degree radial at 1.4 nautical miles. (Latitude: 33º56'38"N, Longitude: 118º24'29"W)
Radius: 8 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 22, 2010 at 1730 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1030 PDT)
To October 22, 2010 at 1900 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1200 PDT)

Area C
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the SANTA MONICA VOR/DME (SMO) 071 degree radial at 10.9 nautical miles. (Latitude: 34º01'26"N, Longitude: 118º14'21"W)
Radius: 8 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 22, 2010 at 1800 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1100 PDT)
To October 22, 2010 at 2230 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1530 PDT)

Area D
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the VAN NUYS VOR/DME (VNY) 085 degree radial at 6.7 nautical miles. (Latitude: 34º12'16"N, Longitude: 118º21'34"W)
Radius: 10 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 22, 2010 at 2130 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1430 PDT)
To October 22, 2010 at 2345 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1645 PDT)

Area E
Airspace Definition:
Center: On the LOS ANGELES VORTAC (LAX) 046 degree radial at 1.4 nautical miles. (Latitude: 33º56'38"N, Longitude: 118º24'29"W)
Radius: 8 nautical miles
Altitude: From the surface up to but not including 18000 feet MSL
Effective Date(s):
From October 22, 2010 at 2300 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1600 PDT)
To October 22, 2010 at 2359 UTC (October 22, 2010 at 1659 PDT)


Operating Restrictions and Requirements

No pilots may operate an aircraft in the areas covered by this NOTAM (except as described).

Except as specified below and/or unless authorized by ATC in consultation with the air traffic security coordinator via the domestic events network (DEN):

A. All aircraft operations within the 8 NMR and/or 10 NMR area(s) listed above, known as the inner core(s), are prohibited except for: Approved law enforcement, military aircraft directly supporting the United States Secret Service (USSS) and the office of the President of the United States, approved air ambulance flights, and regularly scheduled commercial passenger and all-cargo carriers operating under one of the following TSA-Approved standard security programs/procedures: aircraft operator standard security program (AOSSP), full all-cargo aircraft operator standard security program (FACAOSSP), model security program (MSP), twelve five standard security program (TFSSP) all cargo, or all-cargo international security procedure (ACISP) and are arriving into and/or departing from 14 cfr part 139 airports. All emergency/life saving flight (medical/law enforcement/firefighting) operations must coordinate with ATC prior to their departure at 858-537-5900 to avoid potential delays.

B. For operations within the airspace between the 8 NMR and/or 10 nmr and 35 nmr area(s) listed above, known as the outer ring(s): All aircraft operating within the outer ring(s) listed above are limited to aircraft arriving or departing local airfields, and workload permitting, ATC may authorize transit operations. Aircraft may not loiter. All aircraft must be on an active IFR or VFR flight plan with a discrete code assigned by an air traffic control (ATC) facility. Aircraft must be squawking the discrete code prior to departure and at all times while in the TFR and must remain in two-way radio communications with ATC.

C. The following operations are not authorized within this TFR: flight training, practice instrument approaches, aerobatic flight, glider operations, seaplane operations, parachute operations, ultralight, hang gliding, balloon operations, agriculture/crop dusting, animal population control flight operations, banner towing operations, sightseeing operations, maintenance test flights, model aircraft operations, model rocketry, and unmanned aircraft systems (UAS).

D. FAA recommends that all aircraft operators check notams frequently for possible changes to this TFR prior to operations within this region.

greblo
Posts: 435
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:22 am

Post by greblo » Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:47 pm

Thanks Julieann,

Your were the first to discover this TFR. This is probably a good time to mention that all HG pilots are required by the FAA regulations to know of these kinds of NOTAM before they fly. Few of us call Flight Service daily to check to see if there are any emergency airspace closures or closures due to VIP's in our area.

This means there's a decent chance some hg or pg pilot is going to get busted by the FAA on this, unless we are good at getting the word out.

This TFR shuts down all our local mountain flying for the day. I think this sort of thing warrants an email blast from our club as well as postings on the front page of the web site and the Kagel Kam. I'll see if Lisa can do it.
Safety is a book, not a word
Michael Robertson

User avatar
OP
Posts: 1134
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 9:28 am
Location: SFV

Post by OP » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:54 am

Obama is fundraising for Boxer @ USC.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/10/2 ... 71842.html

Post Reply