Multiple airspace closures!!!!! Kagel affected!

Latest information on airspace restrictions or notices that all Kagel pilots should be aware of prior to flying. Please include the NOTAM or TFR issue date in the subject line.
Post Reply
User avatar
stebbins
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:02 am
Location: Palmdale, CA

Multiple airspace closures!!!!! Kagel affected!

Post by stebbins » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:16 pm

There are at least 5 in the area, so I'll only list the ones the might affect us (Summary in the next post.)

(All are Surface to 18,000 feet.)

1) From March 18, 2009 at 2130 UTC (March 18, 2009 at 1430 PDT)
To March 19, 2009 at 0115 UTC (March 18, 2009 at 1815 PDT)

30 nm radius around Latitude: 33º43'52"N, Longitude: 118º01'53"W

This means Wed, 2:30 until 6:15, stay West of Brown Mountain. If you aren't sure, just don't go much past Lukens.

2) From March 20, 2009 at 0025 UTC (March 19, 2009 at 1725 PDT)
To March 20, 2009 at 0130 UTC (March 19, 2009 at 1830 PDT)

30 nm radius around Latitude: 33º48'15"N, Longitude: 118º12'26"W

This means Thurs, 5:25 pm to 6:30. No glass-offs past Lances! Seriously, this one is close, but if you stay West of Lances you'll be fine. Assuming you can be up that late. :-)

3) From March 19, 2009 at 0035 UTC (March 18, 2009 at 1735 PDT)
To March 19, 2009 at 1700 UTC (March 19, 2009 at 1000 PDT)

Latitude: 34º05'27"N, Longitude: 118º21'40"W

This one is a 30 nm circle around Santa Monica airport. It shuts down Kagel and all the way to just past Ave S. But, it doesn't start until 5:35 pm Wed and ends 10:00 am Thurs.

4) From March 19, 2009 at 1645 UTC (March 19, 2009 at 0945 PDT)
To March 19, 2009 at 1940 UTC (March 19, 2009 at 1240 PDT)

Latitude: 34º04'13"N, Longitude: 117º44'44"W
Radius: 30 nautical miles

This one shuts down Crestline Thursday until 12:40! It doesn't affect Kagel unless you go way East.

5) From March 19, 2009 at 1920 UTC (March 19, 2009 at 1220 PDT)
To March 20, 2009 at 0040 UTC (March 19, 2009 at 1740 PDT)

Latitude: 34º05'27"N, Longitude: 118º21'40"W

Radius of 30 nm

This closes Kagel and all nearby areas from 12:20-5:40pm
Last edited by stebbins on Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Fly High; Fly Far; Fly Safe -- George

User avatar
stebbins
Posts: 607
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:02 am
Location: Palmdale, CA

Post by stebbins » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:25 pm

Here's the short version of the TFRs:

Wed:

1) Stay West of Brown Mountain after 2:30pm. (If you don't know where that is, stay west of Lukens.)

2) Land (for absolute sure) by 5:35 pm.

Thurs:

1) Kagel airspace open until 12:20pm, then closed until 5:40pm. Morning flights only. :-(
2) Crestline closed 10:00am until 12:45pm, then open. Afternoon flights only. :-)

Image[/img]
Fly High; Fly Far; Fly Safe -- George

Post Reply