Server Time?

Having problems with this site? Have Suggestions? Can't login? Check here for possible solutions. Anonymous postings ARE NO LONGER allowed here (thanks to the AUTO-BOTS spamming us).

Post Reply
JT

Server Time?

Post by JT » Wed Nov 28, 2007 10:38 pm

Chip, have you noticed that the clock is still on PDST? It doesn't matter much but I thought that the time changes were pretty much incorporated into the software these days.

User avatar
Chip
Site Admin
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:20 pm
Location: Sylmar, CA
Contact:

Post by Chip » Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:35 am

Hadn't noticed till you brought it up :oops: . After checking the administration page (configuration). It appears there's no automatic setting for DST (Daylight Savings Time). The time zone was set for GMT-7, I moved it to GMT-8.

It should be OK now. :roll:

JT

Post by JT » Sat Dec 01, 2007 9:52 pm

Looks the same to me tonight, Chip. It reads 10:50 but it's only 09:50.

User avatar
Chip
Site Admin
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:20 pm
Location: Sylmar, CA
Contact:

Post by Chip » Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:23 am

Look at your post, it says 9:52 pm. Looks OK to me. Sure your computer is OK? Maybe it's in a different time zone, like AZ. :roll:

And I'll use these emoticons all I want, thank you very much :!:

JT

Post by JT » Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 pm

This is odd, Chip. On my computer the Windows time is 1800. The index page says it's 1900. And when I look at my message post time right above your message, it says 10:52 (2252); yours is 0323. I submitted this and it shows a post time of 07:04pm. I edited this in afterward.

User avatar
Chip
Site Admin
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:20 pm
Location: Sylmar, CA
Contact:

Unable to duplicate

Post by Chip » Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:03 pm

Jim,

As you probably know, I have many computers at my disposal. I've checked with Windows XP, Windows Vista, SUSE Linux, and Macintosh OS X 10.5.

I haven't been able to duplicate the problem on any computer so far. I'll check at work too but I think the outcome will be the same.

Take a look here.

User avatar
Christian
Posts: 238
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:32 am
Location: Pacific Palisades

Post by Christian » Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:28 am

It's 9:29 but this message says posted time 10:29.

User avatar
Chip
Site Admin
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:20 pm
Location: Sylmar, CA
Contact:

Guys here what I see

Post by Chip » Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:51 am

Still cannot duplicate.

Look here to see what I see. So now I've checked with the computers at work too and all show the right time.

Here's the screenshot of the message Christian put up. I suspect that "maybe" you guys are not getting updates to your computer systems (is that possible?).

I had a few others verify they see the time correctly as well.

User avatar
Don
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:58 am

Server time

Post by Don » Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:00 pm

I'm having the same result - I posted at 12:57 and the Forum says 1:57.

Over course in a couple months it won't matter again! :?

User avatar
Chip
Site Admin
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:20 pm
Location: Sylmar, CA
Contact:

Fixed ........ er, sort of

Post by Chip » Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:03 pm

Finally found the problem. :( It's a user setting, explains why I have always seen the time correctly. When the accounts affected were created, the default time zone was set to GMT - 7 (effectively putting you in AZ).

I've changed the accounts of those that reported the issue (pays to whine, right Jim).

I've got more to do seeing how there's 180 user accounts. I'll seek a better way to modify the accounts in batch mode.

In the mean time deal with it. I don't think most people care what time the post was created unless your trying to co-ordinate rides (but that's better done via the telephone anyway).

Thanks to all of those of you that care so much :?

jsc1959
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 2:53 pm
Location: Long Beach, Ca

Post by jsc1959 » Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:17 pm

or if the user really cares they can go into their own profile and change the timezone to -8... worked for me.. and makes chip happy

jeff

User avatar
Don
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 8:58 am

Post by Don » Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:42 pm

jsc1959 wrote:or if the user really cares they can go into their own profile and change the timezone to -8... worked for me.. and makes chip happy

jeff

That's fine for those that are "Computer Inclined" - for others like myself - I'm lucky I know where the on/off switch is. I'm sorry the "o"/"1" switch. :?

JT

Post by JT » Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:39 pm

Don, that would be O and |, right?

Chip, I wasn't whining, Whining sounds something like "honey, it still won't work for me. Can't you do anything to fix it? I can't possibly use it like this."

And: You're right: I don't really care about the time. I haven't even reset my 5030 time. Thanks for the time to figure it out, though.

User avatar
Chip
Site Admin
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 8:20 pm
Location: Sylmar, CA
Contact:

Glad I could help

Post by Chip » Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:59 pm

I know your not whining, but I couldn't resist. :wink:

Post Reply